More information on Chacara do Ceu Museum

Chacara do Ceu Museum
Description: Chacara do Ceu Museum

The home of Santa Teresa, known since 1876 as Finca of Heaven, was inherited by Castro Maya in 1936. The present building, designed in 1954 by architect Wladimir Alves de Souza, distinguished by the modernity and architectural solutions for its location, which includes the magnificent gardens and allows 360-degree views over the city and Guanabara Bay.

According to the philosophy that guides the Castro Maya Museum programming of the Museum of the estate of Heaven is guided mainly by three aspects:
1 - promoting the dissemination of the acquis proposing different thematic approaches to reading and conceptual works of art, giving the public the opportunity to know them from many angles, 2 - to continue or resume projects initiated by Castro Maya, like Friends of Engraving and 3 - to establish a dialog with our collection of other institutional or private collections, through the project exhibition Collectors Meeting, which has already received the private collections of José Mindlin, Sergio Fadel, the Murilo Mendes, belonging to the University of Juiz de Fora, and the Sattamini, LESSOR MAC-Niterói.

Along these lines of action and to reveal the many facets of multiple personality de Castro Maya was created editorial series that began with "Castro Maya Host" and followed with "bibliophile" and "Collector Debret and Portinari" .

At the Museum of the estate of Heaven is a collection of European art - which brings together paintings, drawings and prints by artists like Matisse, Modigliani, Degas, Seurat, Miro, the collection of Brazilian art, primarily composed of works by modern artists, Guignard among them, Di Cavalcanti, Iberê Camargo, Antonio Bandeira, and important collection of works by Portinari, today considered the largest public collection of the artist, the collection of Brasiliana one of the most expressive, includes maps of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, paintings oils, watercolors, gouaches, drawings and prints of travelers in the nineteenth century as Rugendas, Chamberlain and Taunay, highlighting the more than 500 original Debret Jean-Baptiste, purchased in Paris in 1939 and 1940, and the Library Castro Maya with about eight thousand titles of books on art, literature, Brazilian and European, mostly French and some of the most important publications of the early nineteenth century travelers: Mary Graham, Maximilian von Wied-Neuwied, Henry Chamberlain, and William Gore Ouseley Victor Frond.


Daily except Tuesdays, from 12h to 17h. Free admission on Wednesdays. Closes on the 1st Jan, Carnival, Good Friday, 21Abr, 1st May, Corpus Christi, 7 Sep, 12 Oct, 2 Nov 15 Nov 25 Dec and 31 Dec.

Address: Murtinho Noble Street, 93
Santa Teresa 20241-050 - Rio de Janeiro - RJ
(55) 3970-1126 21
(55) 3970-1093 21 (Direction)
(55) 21 3970-1135 (Office)
(55) 21 3970-1297 (Administration)
(55) 21 3970-1641 (Administration)
(55) 21 3970-1147 (Collection)
(55) 21 3970-1198 (Media)

Getting there
Subway - Carioca; tram in Santa Teresa. Or buses 206 and 214, from the Castle. Jump off the coast of Curvelo.
Subway - Gloria; van service in front of Banco Itau. Jump on Rua Dias de Barros (Curvelo).

The Museum of the estate of Heaven is located down the street Murtinho Noble, ten minutes walk from Curvelo.

Car: up down the street Candido Mendes, in Heaven, or Francisco Muratori Center. Follow signs.

Free at the museum itself.

Children under 12, people over 65 years, school groups, teachers and tour guides on duty, members of ICOM and the Association of Friends of the Museum.


Photo by: Ascom Riotur

More Photos of Picture

Chacara do Ceu Museum